Cajun Jambalaya – Chicken, Pork and Smoked Sausage

Standard

Another Fight Night…. Another Menu Plan :)

I knew I wanted to do something a bit different this time,  and I planned a whole meal around Louisiana grub! I wasn’t sure how it would be received, but I was pleasantly surprised that everyone seemed to love it!

jambalaya-new-orleans-style

My first EVER. from scratch Jambalaya, Corn Maque Choux, Green Beans wrapped in Bacon, of course my Velveeta/Rotel Dip, cause I think they might never come back if I didn’t have it, haha and some green cuppycakes since it was St. Patty’s day weekend. I think it went over well with the crowd, because I had nothing left.. AT ALL.. at the end of the night :)

I was a bit nervous, because I knew I had to do my heritage proud, but the only Jambalaya I had ever made came out of a box… (I know.. shoot me now..) But I was determined to make this one to remember. Honestly, it couldn’t be simpler.

jamb1

If you have a little bit of time and just some basic ingredients.. you can do this. And the great thing about it, is that you can customize it to your taste. Throw some shrimp in there, use a whole chicken… next time I’m definitely adding some Tasso! I actually recently saw a recipe for “low carb” Jambalaya that incorporates zucchini instead of the rice, trying that one out soon, for sure!

lowcarb

CHICKEN, PORK AND SAUSAGE JAMBALAYA

1 lb Boneless Skinless Chicken breasts (cut into 1″ cubes)

1 pkg Turkey Smoked Sausage (cut into rounds/halves/quarters.. whatever shape you fancy)

2 lbs Pork (I found some beautiful boneless sirloin steaks, but again, whatever you prefer… cut into 2″ cubes)

I large onion.. diced

1 large green bell pepper.. diced

1/2 red bell pepper.. diced

2 stalks celery.. diced

Cajun Seasoning (Tony’s is my favorite)

4 cups long grain rice

8 cups water

—-

Season meat generously with Cajun seasoning and brown in batches. Saute onions, bell pepper and celery until semi soft. Add meat back to pot and stir.

2013-03-16 18.59.24

Just cover with water ( I used about 3 cups or so). Bring to boil, and reduce to simmer. Cover and let the meat braise for 2 hours.

When that’s finished, strain braising liquid from meat and measure the liquid, so you can add the remainder of water to equal 8 cups. Then add 4 cups of rice, another few rounds of Cajun seasoning and stir well. Over med-low heat, cover the pot, and let it cook for another 20 or 30 minutes (DON’T PEEK!) until the liquid is absorbed.

jamb2

Stir to fluff, and eat your heart out! Top with green onions if you so desire

jambalaya-new-orleans-style

One response »

Leave a Reply

