Crockpot Sticky Chicken

Standard

Who’s a crockpotting??  THIS girl

Not something that I’ve done very often, but it seems to have made its way into my kitchen TWICE, in the past week!  Like I said before, I like to stir, add to,  taste, peek and tweak, so I normally simmer for hours on the stove. I do like the idea of the crockpot, and how all the flavors gloriously meld together, and the meat is fall apart tender. My kinda stuff, right there!

I saw this recipe on Pinterest, and it looked a bit on the scrumptious side, so I figured I’d give it a try.

This concoction came out sweet, sticky, a lil bit sour and next time…. Will be spicier (posssibly a TBSP of Sriracha added to the mix) . I’ll dare to compare it to chicken on a stick from the Chinese buffet…. Except with no stick…. And more sauce, but you get the idea 😉

Honey chicken

1lb. Bonless skinless chicken thighs (trimmed of fat)
Salt, pepper, red pepper
8oz honey
1/4 c ketchup
1/2 c low sodium soy sauce
1 Tbsp veg oil
1 small onion (thinly sliced half moons)
1 clove garlic (minced)
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
2 tsp cornstarch
4 tsp cold water
Scallions for garnish

Trim thighs of all visible fat, that you can get to. This is the first time I’ve used thighs  and I’ll be playing around with them to perfect my “handling technique” 😉

Season both sides of chicken with salt, black pepper and red pepper. Place into crockpot.

Mix together in medium bowl.. Honey, ketchup, soy sauce, and oil. Add to chicken.

Thinly slice onion and mince garlic. Add to chicken and sauce.

Give it a good stir and cook on Low for 3-4 hours or High for 1 1/2 -2 1/2 hours. I went a full 2 1/2 hours on high and I think it was perfect.

When cooking time is up, remove chicken from pot and set aside.

Mix cornstartch with COLD water. (you ALWAYS want the water to be cold when mixing cornstartch, so it doesn’t clump. If you add dry cornstartch to hot liquids….. well let’s just say that you don’t want white gelatinous balls in your sauce 😉 )

Sauce will start to thicken.  Chop, shred, tear chicken and add it back to pot and coat with sauce.

Serve over fluffy white rice, with an eggroll and roasted asparagus, if you so desire 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Can’t wait to try it! You know how I love anything Oriental in taste & look! Wonder if chicken breasts would work? You are amazing & your family is so lucky to have a resident chef!!

Leave a Reply

