Scrumtious Meatballs in Marinara over saute’d Kale

Standard

I love meatballs. Pretty much any and every kind. When I get a craving for some… well, for anything actually.. I have to make it. The Man doesn’t really like meatballs.. uhhhh. WHAT??? but he loved these, and they were also 5 year old approved by the little man 😉  They were so light and fluffy and scrumptious!

I know the ‘correct’ way would be to serve these over a beautiful bed of angel hair pasta, but I’m the carb nazi, and pasta is the devil, so I had mine on a lovely bed of saute’d kale. Mmmmmm.. delish! But any pasta would work, pick your poison 🙂

I make my meat balls the same way I make my hamburgers. I remember this mix from when I was a little kid and it’s how my Mom made them. Don’t get no betta 😉

MEATBALLS

1 lb lean ground beef (I use 93/7)

salt, black pepper, red pepper, onion powder, garlic powder ( about, ehh 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp of others, I guess) I don’t measure, so bear with me 😉 / or a couple-few shakes of Tony’s

1 egg

1/4 c milk

1 TBSP Worchestershire Sauce

1/2 c bread crumbs

1 TBSP dried parsley

*(These measurements are all guesstimations.. but pretty close 😉 )

Looking pretty gnarly, right?

Mix it all up real good and shape into desired size meat ball. I guess mine were inch and a half or so, whatever that means, haha.

I put them all in a baking pan, and cooked them at 350′ for a good 20-25 minutes till they looked pretty much 3/4 of the way cooked, turning them once.

I use a jarred Ragu, Mama’s Special Garden sauce, that I just love the flavor of, but use whichever Spaghetti sauce you prefer. Of course I doctor it up and make it “mine” with onion, bell pepper and garlic…. cause what DON’T I cook with those 3?! 😉 I had mine simmering while the meatballs were in the oven. Add cooked balls to sauce of choice, and simmer for another 15 minutes or so, until they are cooked through and saucealicious.

Serve over pasta of choice, topped with Parmesan cheese and a slice of garlic bread. This was absolutely delectable on top of kale, and even better the next day… Isn’t everything? 😉

One response »

Leave a Reply

