Recipes

Bok choy, zucchini and teriyaki meatball soup

As we already know I  luuurve me some meatballs. Also, I have been all about some ethnic cuisine lately. A few months ago, as I was perusing the protein case at the grocery store, I came across these beauties, and I knew I had to make a spot for them.

I try to pick up at least one new produce item every time I go shopping, and I had recently discovered bok choy. This stuff is seriously good. It’s kind of a mix between cabbage, celery and spinach, but with a flavor all its own. You can use it in stir fry’s, saute’s, soups.. shoot, I might even try to roast it next time. yummmm

I threw this soup together on a whim, and it is absolutely fabulous. A little sweet, a little savory, and after it simmers all together for a while, it’s fantastic.

How we do it… Serves 2-3

1/2 package of Aidells Teriyaki and Pineapple chicken meatballs (whole, cut in half, or fourths – your preference)

3 stalks of bok choy (whites and greens, rinsed and sliced)

1 medium zucchini (halved lengthwise and sliced)

1/2 medium onion – diced

1/2 red bell pepper – diced

low sodium soy sauce, sriracha, hoisin sauce, salt and pepper to taste

1-2 cups water

In a small sauce pan, saute onion and bell pepper until soft. Add zucchini and bok choy. Salt and pepper, and add about a tsp of soy sauce, to lightly steam and infuse flavor.

Add sriracha and hoisin, and cook until vegetables are softened

Here’s where I make it a soup. Add about a cup or 2 of water… you may have to add more later due to evaporation. Again season with salt and pepper.

Add in meatballs and let cook for as long as you like, or until meatballs are heated through and tender. Top with extra Sriracha, if you’re a spice fiend like me.

This stuff is SO GOOD! and like with most things, even better the next day 😉

Leave a Reply

