Fabulous Fajitas

Standard

THIS, my friends, would have been the Main Event for our little Cinco de Fight Night celebration.

Better than the main event in the UFC, if I do say so myself. Although I do like the Diaz boys 🙂

Have you guys tried these McCormick packets??

They are just splendiferous! I probably have 5 different flavors in the cabinet, right now, just begging to make my meat flavorful and succulent! For the most part, all you do is mix it with a lil bit of water, lil bit of oil and a lil bit of vinegar (I use Apple Cider vinegar). The vinegar, I think, is the kicker, because it breaks down the protiens or something like that, and makes it so tender and juicy.

Hey McCormick… if you’re listening…. I’ll never turn down free samples 😉

But back to the meat… err, yeah 🙂

This is what I marinate my fajita meat in. They have a couple of different flavors that work well, but the Baja Citrus I think is my favorite for this particular dish.

FAJITAS

-1.5 lbs Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts (sliced into thin strips)   You can also use beef or shrimp, if you like

-1 large onion (halved and sliced)

-2-3 bell peppers (any color… seeded and sliced)

-1 pack McCormick Baja Citrus marinade (water, oil, vinegar that’s needed)

-Flour tortillas, shredded cheese, salsa, sour cream, lettuce, tomato, avocado….

(All or none of the above for topping, wrapping or stuffing your face with 😉 )

First, slice the chicken, mix the marinade, and combine the two in a large bowl

Let marinate in fridge for at least 30 minutes or so… The wetter the better (Did I really just say that, hahaha)

While your chicken is marinating, slice the onions and bell peppers. Heat about a TBSP of olive oil in large saute’ pan and add the bell pepper strips

I cook these for a few minutes, because the onions break down quicker, and I like the onions to retain some bite

Add onions

and cook on medium heat for a good 10 minutes until semi soft

Remove the veggies from the pan, and set aside in a large bow while you cook the chicken

When the chicken is no longer pink, return the veggies to the pan, mix it up real good, cover and let simmer over low-ish heat for at least 10-15 minutes, so the flavors can really come together

Serve it in warmed flour tortillas and your choice of toppings.

Or you could do like me, and make one of the best salads that you have ever eaten!

No Lie! I may have just started drooling… 🙂

Leave a Reply

