Not so Cajun Crawfish Etouffee’

Standard

Having grown up in Louisiana, we always had fresh seafood anywhere and everywhere. Now that I’m all tucked into the armpit of the USA.. (not really, but surely not by the coast) It’s not as easy to get my hands on the good stuff.

My Mom came up and visited a couple of weeks ago and brought some goodies from home. 2lbs of local crawfish tails and a few links of boudin. Since it was technically a late birthday celebration for me and Memorial Day weekend as well, I may have had 1… or 2 links of boudin.

Shoot me now, I know, but it’s a weakness of mine, and a very rare and special treat 🙂

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Cajun boudin, you’re missing out.. BIG TIME. Good chit, right there!

Pronounced BOO-DAN, it’s basically a spicy porky ricey dressing stuffed into a casing. No utensils needed, if you’re a barbarian like me, you squeeze the stuffing right out of the casing with your teeth. If you think you need to be more civilized… you can cut it open with a knife and eat it with a fork… but what’s the fun in that?? Wash it down with a good cold beer, ain’t nuthin betta 😉

Now that I’ve gained a pound just by writing this….

Back to the Crawfish!

I knew I wanted to make some etouffee’ with one of the pounds of crawfish, but I also knew that I wanted to put my own spin on it.  Typically, Etouffee’ is made with a roux (flour and butter), more butter and cream of either Celery or Shrimp soup. I knew I wasn’t having any of that. A few weeks ago, I made a red coconut curry with pork and veggies, and The Hubs had suggested how it might be with crawfish. GENIUS!!

(He might just be good for something after all 😉 Love Ya, Babe 🙂 )

The base of any good Cajun dish is the trinity. Simple, basic 3 ingredients, onion/ bell pepper/ celery. Makes it taste like home.

Shall we get on with how it all came together, already?? 😉

CRAWFISH COCONUT ETOUFFEE’

1 medium Onion (diced)

1 medium Green Bell Pepper (diced)

2 stalks Celery (diced)

2 cloves Garlic (minced)

1 lb Crawfish tails

1 can light Coconut milk

1 Tbsp Tomato paste

1 tsp Corn starch mixed with 1 Tbsp COLD water

salt, black pepper, cayenne, Tabasco – to taste

In medium pan heat 1 tsp olive oil, and add onion, bell pepper and celery

Salt and saute’ until soft, and add garlic. Cook until fragrant. DO NOT BURN GARLIC!

I REPEAT…. DO NOT. EVER. In Anything 🙂

Add Crawfish Tails, fat and all. To you crawfish virgins, fat is not really fat here, it’s flavor, no seriously 😉

Since the crawfish is already cooked, you only need to heat through before adding the coconut milk.

I only used about 3/4 of the can… cause it looked like enough, and I didn’t want it to get too soupy. Stir to combine, and add tomato paste.

Mix together until well combined and thoroughly heated through.

Here’s where I add a tsp of corn starch mixed with about a Tbsp of COLD water, just to thicken it up a bit. Season to your liking with salt, black pepper, and cayenne and a dash or 2 of Tabasco 😉

The typical Cajun way is to serve over cooked white rice. Which is how The Hubs had his… with a couple extra shots of Tabasco 😉

But since I don’t roll that way, and I’m jumping on the crazy….errr… Paleo train, I took mine a step further.

I had a few leftover button mushrooms, so I stuffed them with the crawfish mixture and baked them for about 20 minutes

TALK….. ABOUT….. GOOD!!!!

Leave a Reply

