Recipes

Spicy Asian Turkey Meatballs

We all know of my love affair with meatballs and Asian flavors.

balls1

So I figured why not find a way to marry them together for a little protein filled snack.

Since the Hubs is back working nights, I don’t really “cook” for the boy and I, like I do when he’s home in the evenings.  I’m good with eating salads or soups…. or meatballs 😉  And the boy is pretty happy with anything simple I whip up for him. I mean, does this look like the face of a 6 year old that takes things seriously??

2012-11-02 21.35.19

But I digress….

I always have some crazy (or normal, if you’re like me) condiments hanging around, so I decided to mix up a few with some ground turkey and see how it went.

ballingred1ballsontry

 

These came out delicious! Spicy but Sweet and oh so Meaty. Perfect on their own, on top of an asian inspired salad, in a soup with zucchini and bok choy, However you like!

Now as some of you know, I’m not the measuring kind, so I have no idea (well I could guestimate) how much I put of anything exactly. I just add a shake of this, a glug of that, and a splash of this, and surprisingly, it usually works out :).

I’ll give you a list of the ingredients I used and a round about measurement, but feel free to adjust to what you have and make it your own.

balls2

SPICY ASIAN TURKEY MEATBALLS

1lb Lean ground turkey

1-2 teaspoons of each….

Low Sodium Soy Sauce

Hoisin Sauce

Oyster Sauce

Sweet Chili Sauce

Sriracha

Season to taste with…

Probably 1/2 teaspoon or so of each…

Onion Powder

Garlic Powder

Ground Ginger

Cayenne Pepper

Chives

Salt

Black Pepper

Bake in a pre-heated 375′ oven for 20 – 30 minutes until cooked through. 

Leave a Reply

