W.I.B.E.L. (What I’ve Been Eating Lately) / Paleo 30 day challenge

Standard

So, as much as I would love to have a recipe everyday to share with all of you beautiful people, it’s been a lot of eating like a carnivorous rabbit for the last couple of weeks….

Allow me to explain. On July 1st, I started the Paleo 30 day challenge. While normally a healthy eater, I thought it might be fun (or torture) to push myself a little further. While I’m not a sweets kind of girl (I don’t even remember the last time I ate cookies or cake) I had felt like I may have been slacking off a bit and was starting to feel a little… full?? So I figured.. what’s 30 days out of my life? Give my body a bit of a reset and see how far I can go.

1370

The only real guidelines I set for myself was that I would eat mostly veggies, with lean protein and minimal fruits thrown in here and there. No carbs no dairy (p.s. I LOVE CHEESE!!) and no sugar. I’m halfway in, and I have to say, It has been surprisingly easy (ish).  I had about an ounce of cheese last weekend, but I’ve stuck to it like glue otherwise.

079  434

Curried Cauliflower with shrimp saute’ and cucumbers ……… Filet Mignon with roasted Asparagus

When I have dinner with this much flavor and deliciouness, I don’t miss anything.

Here’s a few other plates from the last couple of weeks. Remember.. Healthy doesn’t have to be boring 🙂

431  014  440082444            435

 

Turkey and Zuchinni Burgers… Blackened Salmon… Grilled Pork Chops…. Ain’t nothin wrong with that!

And apparently I’m a fan of fanning my cucumbers and tomatoes, HA! Presentation is key, my friends 😉

The only real condiment that I’ve allowed myself to have is creole mustard. No salad dressings, BBQ sauces or anything with too much sugar.

And to prove that you can still eat out while watching what you eat….  The Hubster and I went to I ❤ Sushi for lunch last week.

menu

 

If you look at the menu before hand and see that there are a couple of things that you can have, you can go in knowing that and not be tempted to stray from your plan.

I settled on the Sumomono Salad (Cucumbers and seaweed lightly dressed in  rice wine/mirin) and Chicken Yakitori, dressing on the side. Hubster had a couple of sushi rolls that he said were delish!

cucumber salad lunch

 

This was our first time trying the restaurant out and we will definitely be back!

 

What have you been eating lately??

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Love your blog! You’ve got a lovely sense of humor (and the food’s not bad either;))

    I’ve been eating A LOT of scrambled eggs lately. And by lately, I mean every day for the past month! Some salads for lunch and usually tiny dinners. Everything low carb and high fat.

    Thanks for all the great recipes!

Leave a Reply

