Life, Recipes, Weight loss

I’m baaaaack… with a 7 day cleanse :)

Welcome back fellas. I know I’ve been gone for a while, and I’ve been meaning to come back and say hello.. I just didn’t know how to jump back in it.

I’ve been in a weird sort of funk, that I think I’m finally over. I don’t know if it was the stress of everything (Holidays, Birthdays, Wedding planning) or what, but I’m done with that. Time to get ME back!

The wedding is a month away, now, and I felt like it was time for a new start for my body to get back to where I was happy with it. In my state of Funktasticness, I wasn’t as diligent with my eating habits as I had been, and that made me feel even worse about myself.

I saw this cleanse on Pinterest a good year ago. It claimed that you would lose 10-17 lbs in 7 days, and no crazy starvation days, but eating REAL food! Fruits vegetables, and BEEF! It’s a strict plan, but you can customize it to fit You.

Fruits-fruit-20461047-2560-1856

I could honestly eat like this every. single. week. I didn’t crave anything, I was never starving, and for the first 4 days I didn’t even miss the meat (and we all know what a self proclaimed carnivore I am).

By the beginning of the second day, I was already down 3 lbs. and by the fifth day, I had lost 6. All together, at the end of the Seventh day, I was down a total of 11 lbs. (Have I mentioned that I need to fit into a wedding dress in a month… yeah)

And who wouldn’t want to eat this beautiful cornucopia of natural goodness, anyway?

verdura fruit-copia

I’ll put up my daily eats for the 7 days first, and then, I’ll post the guidelines and specifics on why this works

Day 1. 10 oz. watermelon, 1 large honeydew melon, 1 grapefruit
(-3 lbs)
Day 2. 3 stalks celery, 1 med. zucchini, 1/4 c leeks, 1c broccoli, 1/2sm. Onion, 5 baby carrots
Day 3. 1/2 pear:1/2 apple:1/2 avocado smoothie, 1/2 apple, 1 c okra, 1 1/2c brussel sprouts, 1 grapefruit
Day 4. 6 Bananas, 20oz skim milk, cabbage soup
(-6 lbs.)
Day 5. 16 oz Lean Beef, 6 whole tomatoes
Day 6. 12 oz Lean Beef, Cabbage soup, 8 baby carrots, kale chips, saute’d bok choy
Day 7. 1 sm. avocado, 4 cherry tomatoes, 3 stalks celery, 1c roasted okra, saute’d kale, 1/4c leeks (I couldn’t bring myself to having brown rice and juice after I had worked so hard all week, so I just stuck to the veggies)
(-11 lbs)
MY Cabbage Wonder Soup Recipe
2 med onions – chopped
1 green bell pepper & 1 yellow bell pepper – chopped
3 stalks celery – chopped
1 head cabbage – shredded
1 14.5 oz can tomatoes
1 envelope Lipton onion soup mix
24 oz. water
*Saute all vegetables until tender, add tomatoes, soup mix and water. Simmer until desired doneness.
This plan can be used as often as you like without any fear of complications. It is designed to flush your system of impurities and give you a feeling of well being. After seven days you will begin to feel lighter because you will be lighter by at least 10 lbs. You will have an abundance of energy and an improved disposition.During the first seven days you must abstain from all alcohol
You must drink 10 glasses of water each day
Day One All fruits except bananas. Your first day will consist of all the fruits you want. It is strongly suggested that you consume lots of melons the first day. Especially watermelon and cantaloupe. If you limit your fruit consumption to melons, your chances of losing three lbs. on first day are very good.
Day Two All vegetables. You are encouraged to eat until you are stuffed with all the raw or cooked vegetables of your choice. There is no limit on the amount or type. For your complex carbohydrate, you will start day two with a large baked potato for breakfast. You may top the potato with one pat of butter.
Day Three A mixture of fruits and vegetables of your choice. Any amount, any quantity. No bananas yet. No potatoes today.
Day Four Bananas and milk. Today you will eat as many as eight bananas and drink three glasses of milk. This will be combined with the special soup which may be eaten in limited quantities.
Day Five Today is feast day. You will eat beef and tomatoes. Eat two 10 oz. portions of lean beef. Hamburger is OK. Combine this with six whole tomatoes. On day five you must increase your water intake by one quart. This is to cleanse your system of the uric acid you will be producing.
Day Six Beef and vegetables. Today you may eat an unlimited amount of beef and vegetables. Eat to your hearts content.
Day Seven Today your food intake will consist of brown rice, fruit juices and all the vegetables you care to consume.Tomorrow morning you will be 10-17 lbs. lighter than one week ago.
If you desire further weight loss, repeat the program again. You may repeat this program as often as you like, however, it is suggested that you are allowed two glasses of white wine in addition to the instructions on the program. You may substitute champagne for white wine. Under no circumstances are you to drink any other alcoholic beverages with the exception of beer which is allowed. Any liquor (bourbon,vodka, rum) is forbidden. Cream drinks are especially forbidden. You may have an occasional cordial such as creme de menthe or schnapps, but you must always limit yourself to two drinks. If you wine, drink only wine that day. If you have beer, drink only beer that day, etc. Alcohol adds empty calories to your diet. However, after the first week it will help your digestion and settle your stomach.
G.M.’S Wonder Soup  is intended as a supplement to your diet. It can be eaten any time of the day in virtually unlimited quantities. You are encouraged to consume large quantities of this soup.
Additional CommentsVegetables as may be taken in the form of a salad if desired. No dressing except malt, white or wine vinegar, squeezed lemon, garlic, herbs. No more than one tea spoon of oil.

You have been given a recipe for the WONDER SOUP which can be eaten in unlimited quantities. This soup is a supplement while you are on the program and it should be a pleasure to eat. Not everyone likes cabbage, green peppers, celery etc. This recipe is not inflexible. You may substitute vegetables according to your taste. You may add any vegetables you like: asparagus, peas, corn, turnips, green beans, cauliflower, etc. Try to stay away from beans (lima, pinto, kidney, etc.), however, because they tend to be high in calories even though they are very good for you.

Beverages you may consume while on the program :

1. Water (flavored with lemon/lime if desired).
2. Club Soda is OK.
3. Black Coffee. No cream or cream substitute. No sugar or sweetness.
4. Black Tea = Herb or Leaf.
5. Absolutely nothing else except the fruit juices which are part of day seven. No fruit juices before day seven.

How and Why It Works

Day One you are preparing your system for the upcoming  program. Your only source of nutrition is fresh or canned fruits. Fruits are nature’s perfect food. They provide everything you could possibly want to sustain life except total balance and variety.

Day Two starts with a fix of complex  carbohydrates coupled with an oil dose. This is taken in the morning for energy and balance. The rest of day two consists of vegetables which are virtually calorie free and provide essential nutrients and fiber.

Day Three eliminates the potato because you get your carbohydrates from the fruits. Your system is now prepared to start burning excess pounds. You will still have cravings which should start to diminish by day four.

Day Four, bananas, milk and soup sound the strangest and least desirable. You’re in for a surprise. You probably will not eat all the bananas allowed. But they are there for the potassium you have lost and the sodium you may have missed the past three days. You will notice a definite loss of desire for sweets. You will be surprised how easy this day will go.

Day Five, Beef and tomatoes. The beef is for iron and proteins, the tomatoes are for digestion and fiber. Lots and lots of water purifies your system. You should notice colorless urine today. Your allowance calls for the equivalent of five “quarter pounders”. Do not feel you have to eat all this beef. You must eat the six tomatoes.

Day Six is similar to day five, Iron and proteins from beef, Vitamins and fiber from vegetables. By now your system is in a total weight loss inclination. There should be a noticeable difference in the way you look today, compared to day one.

Day Seven finished off the program like a good cigar used to finish off Victorian meals, except much healthier. You have your system under control and it should thank you for the flushing and cleaning you just gave it.

59 thoughts on “I’m baaaaack… with a 7 day cleanse :)”

  1. Can you tell me where you found the cleanse? I’ve never done one before and would like to look into it. If I’m not doing paleo already, will it be safe and do-able?

    1. Mel, it is definitely safe and doable, no matter how you are eating now. I actually first saw it on Pinterest, and have been wanting to do it for a long time. I figured what better time than a month until my wedding, haha. I’m actually in the middle of doing it for the third time, and while I’m not dropping the significant weight that I did the first time, I feel cleaner, healthier and just all around better about myself and my body. Let me know if you have any questions, but I say Go For It!!

      1. Thanks for the response! I actually found you on Pinterest, too, and have enjoyed reading back on your blog and your yummy-looking recipes. You do a great job of demonstrating your kitchen prowess! Congratulations on your upcoming wedding. I think you look great. The reasons this plan appealed to me was first the fruits and veggies and secondly the possibility of losing so much at a time…I need a jump start to a more common-sense way of eating because after 3 kids all of a sudden I turn around and I have 50 unwelcome pounds hanging out and I don’t recognize myself. I’m starting this week. Thanks for explaining everything so clearly. Wish me luck!

    1. Thank you so much, Mel. The wedding was absolutely fabulous and went off without a hitch (and my dress fit perfectly) 🙂 So excited to hear that the cleanse worked for you!! 10 lbs in a week is GREAT! Way to Go!

    1. CJ, You can use any of these to substitute for Bananas – the idea is to get a lot of potassium – Apricots, Figs, Nectarines, Dates. Remember to limit to 8 count. And for the soup, it is not mandatory to use the Lipton soup mix. Just season it with salt, pepper and any herbs you like for flavoring.

      1. But I cannot have any fruit except watermelon, cant elope, etc. No berries, fruit on trees, etc. So… what can I replace your fruits for? Soup will be easy then. Thanks!

      2. I was curious, so I did a bit of research. Here is a complete list of potassium rich foods. http://potassiumrichfoods.com/potassium-rich-foods-list/ I’d say it’s ok with your restrictions to pick one thing low in calories to substitute for bananas. Honestly, this day is one of the easiest for me, and I have a hard time even eating 4 bananas, because this is the first day I have the soup, and it really satisfies me. Hope this helps

  2. I need to know what you would use if you cannot have some ingredients in Lipton onion soup mix. Food intolerant to some ingredients.

    1. You can! I actually did the cleanse 3 times in a month. I didn’t lose as much weight with the second and third rounds, but that’s just because I didn’t have that much to lose, I was just trying not to gain.
      Honestly, eating right everyday and exercise is the tried and true way to lose weight and keep it off. Dedication is key! Once you start, just keep going, and take it one day at a time 🙂

  3. i use truvia in my coffee, 0 calories, is this something that is still a no-no…or is that allowable bc of 0 calories? Thanks!!

      1. I would say the truvia is fine, since it’s a natural sweetener. The Crystal light mixes are probably ok if you don’t have it too much, but I wouldn’t overdo it since it is artificial sweetener.

  4. Oh… I am onto the fifth day and beef… I am not a fan of beef but getting ready to cook the 10oz. patty for breakfast/lunch. I have only lost 3 pounds and gained 1 back. I know I started at 134 but still to be back to 131 and all this work. Just wanted to loose about 8 pounds. First day I felt good, next two headache, yesterday great and what will it be like today. The meat is sickening and I do eat meat.

    1. Just have to add… cooked the burgers! Thought it would be horrible but am finding they are the best burgers ever. Maybe it’s because of not having meat for a few days and got the best burger with very little fat.

      1. I had a hard time eating the beef, too, the first time around. And i LOVE meat. I think you’re not losing as much or as quickly because you really don’t have all that much to lose, so it will be more like a cleanse rather than a rapid weight loss. I, myself only had a few pounds to lose and after the first round, I barely lost anymore weight the next 2 times I did it, but I felt soooo much better!! Stick with it, you’re almost there! 🙂

      2. Do you have a suggestion on food maintenance after I am done with the cleanse? Just to eat better!

      3. Yep. I like to stick to REAL food. Vegetables, Fruit, Lean Meats, Whole Grains. I think in today’s society, we know how we SHOULD eat, but there are so many temptations. I like to cook at home more than I like to eat out, because I know what I put in my food.

    1. You can absolutely cook them! And I would think that if you really don’t want to eat them, that you can just have the cabbage soup with the beef that day. I’ve read that it is necessary to consume tomatoes on the 5th day. Moreover tomatoes help in purifying the urine and can provide fiber to the diet. You need to eat at least six tomatoes on the 5th day. Hence you cannot avoid tomatoes on the 5th day. You can have other fruits and vegetables on the other days of the diet program. It is very difficult to substitute tomatoes with any fruit or vegetable.

  5. Started this today, so far so good!! Miss my coffee and tea tho, I know that I can have it but I put milk and sugar in it.

      1. Day 5 – Beef and tomatoes – can we have anything else in addition to this?? I am just wondering if I can make a pico de gallo (tomatoes with onion, peppers, cilantro and lime) would make eating the tomatoes much easier to eat for me LOL thanks!!!

      2. You can have the soup in addition to the beef and tomatoes, so I would see no reason that you couldn’t make pico de gallo as well. 🙂

    1. Yes you can. I actually think that you can eat it as a supplement on any day of the cleanse. I personally don’t start eating it until the day with the bananas, because I feel like it helps get me through the end of the week, if I’m not burnt out on it by then, but by all means, make it work for YOU! 🙂

  6. Hii!! my coworkers and i are going to do the cleanse together, there is strength in numbers…lol. We were wondering though, Can we substitute the beef for chicken breast? We are not big red meat eating folks.

    1. Hi Michelle! Chicken can be substituted for beef. Chicken works really well for those that do not eat beef. Keep in mind however that chicken must be served lean and free of skin. You can also substitute grilled fish, if you like. The main focus of this “ingredient” is to get as much protein to rebuild the muscle you may have lost over the first 4 days. Hope this helps, and good luck to you ALL!

  7. Hi there! This looks like lots of fun and I would love to try it, but I am breastfeeding. Do you have any idea if this is ok for a nursing mom? Thanks!

    1. Hi Crystal! Honestly, I think I would wait until you are done breastfeeding, if you are still doing that exclusively. If your infant is older and is also incorporating other foods into their diet, I would think it might be ok. Only because you’re not getting all the nutrients and carbohydrates to nourish your baby, and also keep your energy level up during the cleanse. I did a bit of research, and here’s a page I find that might help you decide.
      http://www.gmdietworks.com/general-motors-diet/gm-diet-after-delivery.html
      Hope this helps 🙂

      1. Thank you so much for that article! Yes, she is 9 months old and eating lots of other foods also. I think I might give it a go but keep close tabs on how I’m feeling. Thanks for the reply!

    1. For the milk, you can substitute non fat yogurt (regular or greek), but if that isn’t feasible for you either, you don’t have to have the dairy. This day is easier tan you think, because you can have the cabbage soup, which really is a treat.As for the tomatoes, I did a bit of research, but don’t see that there is an actual substitute, but you can cook them and make a tomato “sauce” with herbs and spices, or just have the beef and the soup again on this day as well. Hopr this helps 🙂

  8. Hi! I’m lactose intolerant so day 4 (tomorrow) is going to have to be different for me. Any suggestions of what to substitute for milk?

    1. If you can’t have any dairy at all, the milk is not necessary. Is there any other kind that you can have, say greek yogurt for instance?? If not, it’s fine, because you can have the soup as well, and that to me feels like a special treat on this day. Keep it up! You’re more than halfway there, and it only gets easier 🙂

  9. what kind i use as a replacement for the beef? Im a vegetarian and will not be adding that into my cleanse.

    1. Essentially, you are Allowed to have the soup everyday in moderation as a supplement. I chose not to have it until the 4th day, because it seemed like a special dinner treat after basically eating “raw” over the first few days. This is why this cleanse is good, because you can customize it to fit you as a person so you can get through it easier 🙂

    1. The original meal plan calls for a regular potato, but sweet potato may be used instead of the regular potato, as long as there is no sugar added to the meal.

    1. Hi Sue, I wouldn’t see where that would be a problem, just make sure you drink plenty of water, since the fruit will have less than it does when fresh. 🙂

    1. Is it all dairy that you stay away from, or just milk in particular? I don’t see why you couldn’t have plain yogurt (either regular or greek) maybe even cottage cheese, or possibly even a couple of ounces of mozzarella (just make sure that whatever you choose is low fat and has the least amount of “other ingredients”). OR, if you’re opposed to all of that, there is no problem with skipping it all together, just have the cabbage soup for lunch and dinner with a few bananas throughout the day

Leave a comment